Monday, May 20, 2019

In The Red Zone Monday: R-MC Softball; Grayson Radcliffe LIVE!

Softball takes center stage tonight on 102.9 The Mater as "In The Red Zone" celebrates Randolph-Macon's entry into the Division III College World Series later this week!


WHEN: Monday, 6-7pm
WHERE: Sports Page Grille, Ashland

Randolph-Macon softball coach Kevin Proffitt
Randolph-Macon senior pitcher Candace Whittemore
Grayson Radcliffe, Second Team All-Big Ten standout at Indiana University (Patrick Henry '17)

RADIO: 102.9 FM, 1430 AM

WEB: CLICK HERE to listen live anywhere around the world!

APP: Listen on @TuneIn on "Radiall"!

Saturday, May 18, 2019

HISTORY: Randolph-Macon Softball To Division III World Series

They needed two wins Saturday to make history, and they did it, both in dramatic fashion, both sharing the same final score.

Shelby Hill was the hero of Game 1 on Saturday as her game-winning hit gave Randolph-Macon a 4-3, eight inning triumph over host Christopher Newport to force a third and deciding game in the NCAA Division III Newport News Super Regional. In that game, senior pitcher Candace Whittemore kept the Captains off the scoreboard for the first six innings as the Yellow Jackets built a 4-0 lead.

A seventh inning insurance run off the bat of Savannah Wood scoring Hill proved to be the difference, as the Yellow Jackets survived a pinch-hit three run home run in the bottom of the seventh by Christopher Newport to clinch their first-ever trip to the sport's biggest stage.

Randolph-Macon (30-15) finished with a 3-2 record over Christopher Newport, who, when they came to Ashland in early April for a doubleheader, were ranked #1 in the nation. The Yellow Jackets went 5-5 overall against teams ranked atop the national Top 25 poll, going 2-3 against Old Dominion Athletic Conference rival Virginia Wesleyan, who was stunned by Lynchburg last weekend.

The Yellow Jackets begin play in the eight-team, double-elimination national championship tournament on Thursday in Tyler, Texas.

Head Coach Kevin Proffitt won his 400th career game as head coach in the second game victory Saturday as the Yellow Jackets punched their ticket to Texas.

As other teams clinch bids, we will post links to articles about them below.

NOTE: Coach Proffitt and Super Regional Most Outstanding Pitcher Candace Whittemore (Patrick Henry) will be LIVE with host Rob Witham on "In The Red Zone" at SportsPage Grille Ashland this Monday night from 6-7pm only on The Mater, 102.9 FM and 1430 AM.

CLICK HERE to listen to "In The Red Zone" live online or use the @tunein radio app and listen live on "Radiall"!


Williams College

Trine University

Emory University (who eliminated University of Lynchburg):

Illinois Wesleyan

St. Thomas (MN)

Eastern Connecticut State

NOTE: Texas Lutheran and Linfield will complete the final game of their Super Regional on Sunday afternoon due to weather. The winner will be the eighth and final participant in the Division III College World Series.

Thursday, May 16, 2019

RVA Locals Only on ESPN Richmond Friday

Hear from Hanover head softball coach Michael Rohr on "RVA Locals Only" Friday morning at 9:30 only on ESPN Richmond!

CLICK HERE to listen online.

RADIO: 99.5 and 102.7 FM, 950 AM

Sunday, May 12, 2019

NCAA Softball: Randolph-Macon Plays For Region Title Monday

After rain delayed the finals of the Ewing, New Jersey Regional in the NCAA Division III Softball Championship Sunday, the Randolph-Macon Yellow Jackets get set to play for the title against Arcadia on Monday morning.

First pitch is scheduled for 9am. The Yellow Jackets must win one out of two games to win the region and advance to Super Regional play this coming weekend.

CLICK HERE to watch the games, or to follow on live stats. We'll have a complete wrap-up of the day's events on "In The Red Zone" live from SportsPage Grille Ashland Monday night at 6pm on 102.9 The Mater (102.9 FM/1430 AM), and on the @TuneIn Radio app on "Radiall"!

Tuesday, May 07, 2019

Atlee Little League Softball: Gators vs. Wolfpack

CLICK HERE to listen live Tuesday night at 7:55 to the Atlee Little League Game of The Week as the Gators and Wolfpack collide in Majors Softball action!

RADIO: 102.9 The Mater (102.9 FM/1430 AM)

MOBILE: @tunein radio app on "Radiall"

Monday, May 06, 2019

IN THE RED ZONE: NCAA Championship Comes To Ashland

CLICK HERE to listen live online tonight at 6pm as, live from Sports Page Grille Ashland, Rob Witham talks exclusively with Randolph-Macon head women's lacrosse coach MK Geratowski about the Yellow Jackets' season, their appearance Sunday in the Old Dominion Athletic Conference Championship and hosting the 2019 NCAA Division III Women's Lacrosse Championship on May 25 and 26 at Day Field here in Ashland!

RADIO: 102.9 The Mater (102.9 FM/1430 AM)

MOBILE: TuneIn Radio App on "Radiall"

Saturday, May 04, 2019

Atlee Little League Game Of The Week: Spiders Vs. Hokies

CLICK HERE to listen live to the Atlee Little League Game of The Week as we present Majors Baseball action as the Spiders battle the Hokies!

RADIO: 102.9 FM and 1430 AM

APP: TuneIn on "Radiall"!

Today's game is brought to you by:

Yorke Insurance Agency

Massey, Wood and West

J.S. Archer and Company